Hot 5: Convention news, NACo posts & more

  • Published: August 11, 2014
  • Convention is just a week away

    Your ACCA staff is working hard to put the finishing touches on what promises to be an outstanding Annual Convention this year, and our focus on “Corrections at a Crossroads” and other timely topics has drawn great interest from leaders in and out of county government throughout the state. The ACCA officers and board of directors are excited that so many special guests – candidates for top statewide offices, county tax officials, sheriffs and others — will be joining us as speakers and conference attendees. Please help them extend a warm county welcome! (And there’s still time to register too – call Jennifer Datcher at 334-263-7594 for assistance.)


    Estimated premium contributions to be announced next week

    Trustees for the ACCA Workers’ Compensation Self-Insurers’ Fund and the ACCA Liability Self-Insurance Fund, Inc. met recently to set premium contributions for the upcoming year.  Fund members are encouraged to attend the Insurance Funds’ Membership Meeting scheduled for 2 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 19, during the ACCA Annual Convention to receive a summary of their estimated premium contributions and refunds, if any.  For more information, contact Henry van Arcken at


    Congrats to NACo leadership appointees from Alabama

    The following county leaders from Alabama have recently been appointed to leadership positions in the National Association of Counties for the 2014-15 year:

    • Commissioner Larry White, Escambia County: Chairman, Rural Development Subcommittee, Agriculture and Rural Affairs Steering Committee;
    • Commissioner Robert Harrison, Madison County: Vice-chair, Law Enforcement Subcommittee, Justice & Public Safety Steering Committee;
    • County Engineer Richie Beyer, Elmore County: Vice-chair, Highway/Highway Safety Subcommittee, Transportation Steering Committee;
    • Commissioner Rhondel Rhone, Clarke County: Board of Directors;
    • President Connie Hudson, Mobile County Commission: Vice-chair, Arts and Culture Commission;
    • Chairman Stan Batemon, St. Clair County Commission: Chair, Veterans and Military Services Committee;
    • Commissioner T.C. Coley, Tallapoosa County: Vice-chair, International Economic Development Task Force.


    Deadline nears for retiree bonus

    Counties wishing to participate in the one-time bonus for their retirees through the Retirement Systems of Alabama have until the end of the month to opt in by resolution. If you need a copy of RSA’s preferred resolution, please email Sallie Gowan at


    Status of self-gov

    There’s been a lot of interest in the Alabama Limited Self-Governance Act through the summer, and much appreciation is due to the county officials throughout the state who have provided information to ACCA about how self-governance is working in their counties for an upcoming status report. Voters in Barbour, Elmore and Russell counties will consider the issue on the November ballot. If any other counties have gotten self-governance on the ballot this year, please email Sallie Gowan at



    Hot 5 is a weekly newsletter from the Association of County Commissions of Alabama